Susan Boyle – I Dreamed a Dream

After her powerful vocal performances in the spring of 2009 on the UK talent show Britain’s Got Talent, 48-year-old Susan Boyle became a global sensation. Videos of her performances and interviews have been viewed well over 100 million times on YouTube, and her success generated a wave of media stories on how ordinary people can demonstrate extraordinary talent. Now, under the guidance of Simon Cowell, Susan Boyle will release her first album.

Not Just Show Tunes

In July, 2009, Simon Cowell spoke about the recording process for the new album. He stated that things were going so well in the studio it would certainly not be put together as a souvenir album of only show tunes. The songs “I Dreamed a Dream,” “Memory,” and “Cry Me a River” that have endeared Susan Boyle to fans around the world are expected to be included. Cowell went on to say, “We went through about 350 to 400 songs to choose from. She was blown away by some of the song choices…She’s going to surprise a lot of people with this record.”

Early Sales Interest

Within just two days of being made available for pre-orders, Susan Boyle’s upcoming album was already the #2 selling album at Amazon. Predictions seem far too premature, but this type of response makes it clear there is a waiting audience for a Susan Boyle album.

Track List

  • “Wild Horses”
  • “I Dreamed a Dream”
  • “Cry Me a River”
  • “How Great Thou Art”
  • “You’ll See”
  • “Daydream Believer”
  • “Up to the Mountain”
  • “Amazing Grace”
  • “Who I Was Born to Be”
  • “Proud”
  • “The End of the World”
  • “Silent Night”

Concert Dates

Susan Boyle performed at shows on the summer Britain’s Got Talent concert tour. The most recent word has been that she will perform concerts in the US in advance of the release of her album. The US music market is seen as crucial to Susan Boyle’s worldwide success.

Share 0
Tweet 0
Pin it 0
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts